In Pictures: Scilly teams take part in ÖTILLÖ Swimrun

A record number of local teams took part in the ÖTILLÖ Swimrun events at the weekend.

A total of 124 pairs competed in the World Championships Qualifying race on Sunday (June 10th), swimming a total of 8km and running 29.5km each.

Team Garmin (Pontus Lindberg and George Bjalkemo) from Sweden were the overall winners of the race in a time of 4 hours, 31 minutes and 24 seconds.

The first Scilly team to finish were Limpy and Gimpy, aka Wez Swain and Rob Carrier. They finished in 39th place, in a time of 6:08:34.

Local teams. Photos by Ed Marshall

Dave Hooper and Mark Worledge came in 53rd with 6:21:52, while the first female pair were Alison Stedeford and Selena Baxter in 71st (ninth female team to finish) on 6:47:07. Anna McCann and Amanda French were 80th in a time of 7:00:39. Steven Gibson and Ruth Nicholls did not finish.

Watch the race summary below:

More local pairs took part in the shorter Sprint race on Saturday (June 9th), which included 67 teams in total. Amelia Mills and James Stedeford were the first islanders to finish, in ninth (fourth among the mixed couples) in a time of 2:32:10. They were quickly followed by Emma Lainchbury and Adam O'Neill in 10th (2:33:47). Julian Pearce and Abi Wrigley were 19th (2:49:49), Gareth Tibbs and Georgia May 21st (2:50:30), Kirsty Graham and Anna Jenkins 25th (fifth among the female teams with 2:56:49), David Mumford and Rosie Felton 34th (3:07:09), Victoria Hitchens and Karen Wright 37th (3:13:12), Stu Barrs and Liz Tucker 43rd (3:16:41), Geri Bright and Emily Miles 46th (3:17:55), Bryony Lishman and Ludovica Bruno 48th (3:19:37), Nick Lishman and Kate Queally 50th (3:29:12) and Susie Taylor and Erica Swain 53rd (3:31:12).

Local teams. Photos by Ed Marshall


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow This is Scilly
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon