top of page

ISSG explains Tresco absence on advisory board

The Isles of Scilly Steamship Group has explained why there are no Tresco residents on its new Steamship Advisory Board (SAB).

Eight islanders have joined the inaugural board, including four from St Mary's, two from St Agnes, one from Bryher and one from St Martin's.

However, some residents have questioned why there is no representation from Tresco, the second largest island in the archipelago.

A spokesman for the Isles of Scilly Steamship Group said: “We welcomed applications for the Steamship Advisory Board from all residents living on all five inhabited islands.

"The Nominations Committee assessed applications with a view to ensuring the SAB would include a good mix of residents from across Scilly, with varied backgrounds, business interests and situations, to ensure a thorough mix of opinions and inputs on the board.

“A number of islanders living on Tresco requested an application form but none were returned to us and so these potential applications couldn't be progressed."

The spokesman added: “We intend to rotate membership of the SAB over time and would encourage anyone still interested in taking part to register their interest now.”

The members of the Steamship Advisory Board, which will meet quarterly, are John Peacock, Tristan Hick, Fred Ticehurst, Andrew Walder, Georgia May, Mark Cheshire, Avril Mumford and Stuart Moore.

The SAB held its first meeting on March 15th.


Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow This is Scilly
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page