• scillynowandthen

Conservative Derek Thomas still Scilly's MP

The Isles of Scilly's Conservative MP Derek Thomas has held on to his seat by a narrow margin.

Derek has been the MP for St Ives since 2015, when he defeated Liberal Democrat Andrew George.

Andrew, who had represented the constituency since 1997, had hoped to regain his seat this time around.

After a hard-fought campaign, Derek gained 22,120 votes to Andrew's 21,808. Labour candidate Chris Drew had 7,298 votes. The turnout was 76.1%

St Ives, the most marginal seat in Cornwall, was one of the last constituencies to declare. As the vote was close, there was also a delay to ensure that all ballot papers were in the correct bundles - prompting jokes on social media that the result would be coming 'dreckly'.

Cornwall Council's chief executive Kate Kennally finally made the declaration just after 7.30am.

In a break with tradition, Scilly's votes were counted on St Mary's and the results phoned in to Carn Brea. Officials usually have to wait for the islands' ballot boxes to arrive in Cornwall on Friday morning.


© All images on this site are either owned by This is Scilly, published under licence or reproduced with kind permission.

Twitter logo from Shutterstock
Facebook logo from Shutterstock